Take me to the chocolate

Chocolate_Fountain_(3822487400)

Handwritten page of a diary dated January 8, 2009

…  and great-grandma Alice was about driving me nuts. Don’t get me wrong, I love hanging out with her most of the time, but ever since her friend Howard backed out on their Vegas trip, she’s been in a crapped out frame of mind. And I kept thinking this was my chance to get out of here a while before the new semester begins. OK, first time I asked her to take me she laughed. Right in my face. So not only do I have to talk her into taking me, but she and Howard had plans to stay at the Mandarin Oriental, and hey, I’m sure it’s very nice, but I have my heart set on the Bellagio Hotel.

So I drove her to Denny’s for lunch. I think it’s a boring place to eat but she just loves it — so OK. Then while we’re there I ask her to tell me the story about seeing a Judy Garland show at the Dunes Hotel and after she gets done practically telling me every song Judy Garland sang that night, I say “Hey, you know what hotel is on the very same piece of land that the Dunes was on?” and she says no and I say “The Bellagio.” And I can see the wheels starting to turn. I say “yeah, that’s the place with those water fountains that make cool patterns to the rhythm of whatever song they play.” So I let those thoughts simmer a while and then when we get home, I get out the computer and I show her a picture of the world’s largest chocolate fountain. And oh yeah, it just happens to be in a shop at the Bellagio Hotel.

I’m so close I can taste it.

__________________________

Original image:
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Chocolate_Fountain_(3822487400).jpg
Published in: on September 13, 2013 at 3:33 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://thatoneday.wordpress.com/2013/09/13/take-me-to-the-chocolate/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Here’s an idea… Plant the seeds of sweet revenge by superimposing a picture of her former friend, Howard, and his latest squeeze in front of that chocolate fountain and tell your aunt that they are staying at the Bellagio and you’re practically assured of staying at that hotel very soon.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

