Popeye Village, Malta

 

Popeye Village

Handwritten page of a diary dated December 29, 2008

even if I am the only one wearing a tie, working at a K-Mart store is not as glamourous as it sounds, ha ha. And taking my dinner out of the microwave every night is not all that glamourous either.

Uncle Harry emails me a link to every funny picture he sees, so of course there was one in my inbox today — this guy dressed up with a fake beard and an old fashioned cap. On the side it said the guy in the pic was “Bluto” at “Popeye Village (Sweethaven Village). Then it said Places>Countries>Malta. Forgot where Malta was, so looked it up on a map. Wow south of Italy, smack in the center of the Mediterranean. No blizzards there I bet, even in December.

Looked at more pictures of Malta. Nice. Looked at more pictures of Sweethaven Village. Excellent. Then, on Flickr, I found this picture of Popeye Village. SWEET! The caption said, “The film set of the 1980 Musical Production “Popeye,” also known as “Popeye Village” was constructed in Anchor Bay during the last 7 months of 1979.”  I didn’t see that movie if its the one with Robin Williams, but now I might, just to get a better look at Sweethaven.

I made that picture my screensaver. I want to live in the house with the red roof because it looks like it has a slide that goes down to the blue sea, where I’ll swim every day and get tan and back to my fighting weight. Then, after I go to my little job at the general store, I’ll ride my bike over to that pink house in the back of town near the cliffs because a pretty girl is waiting to feed me some Mediterranean dinner and we’ll walk through the streets of town and wave to all the

__________________________

Original image: http://www.flickr.com/photos/75431183@N00/2610758405
Published in: on March 3, 2010 at 4:30 am  Leave a Comment