El Distino

Abandoned motel

Handwritten page of a diary dated July 22, 2007

back to the Salton Sea for our 20th anniversary, and stay at the North Shore Motel, where we stayed for our honeymoon. So we drove over there but what we found wasn’t pretty. The “sea” (actually a huge lake in the middle of California) looks rancid so I guess the tourists stopped coming and the motel is now boarded up.

I said to Bobby, hey remember when we were here before and we went into Mecca and saw that giant man statue by a car repair shop? Let’s go see him again. So we drove to Mecca and went around and around that town without finding it so we stopped some teenager, who informed us the giant man was decapitated for a while, but then just disappeared. He said he had a picture of the man when he still had his head on, and he’d sell us a copy for five bucks, but we said thanks anyway.

I’m telling you this trip seemed doomed, but then people said our marriage seemed doomed, and we stuck that out longer than anyone thought we would.

We drove up a little further to Indio and found a nightclub called El Distino, where we could eat and have a cocktail, and I dragged Bobby out on the dance floor with me. I just decided, we are going to get some passion going tonight, even if it has to kill me, and for a while, I thought it might. But then while we were dancing, some song came on, and I’d never heard it before, but all of a sudden it was like a spell came over Bobby, and he turned into Don Juan. He got his mouth right up to my ear, which was nice because it reminded me of when he used to whisper to me all the time, and he said what I’d been waiting to hear for almost a decade

__________________________

Original image: http://www.flickr.com/photos/slworking/3048907705/
Published in: on March 5, 2010 at 4:30 am  Leave a Comment