Stilts on parade

Man in bird costume leads parade

Handwritten page of a diary dated May 19, 1996

weird to live on a parade route.

I remember the first time I figured it out, when we first moved here I was sitting in my room writing a paper for history and I heard an old-fashioned marching-band song, which made me think I was hearing the song from thinking too hard about my homework concerning the end of World War I, except then this band started to play some Fleetwood Mac song which couldn’t have been played in 1918.

My sister started screaming her head off, and I thought maybe it was a real band and I went outside like everyone else. Then, since we were new and didn’t know what occasions would call for a parade in this town (a lot of them) every so often you’d just hear a marching band and there was another parade.

I started noticing that this one guy is usually in the parade — a guy who is pretending to ride a giant bird. On the one hand you want to like him because he built something quite genius, but he always has this mean look on his face. Even when we yell nice things at him about his most excellent bird, he just looks straight ahead.

If I were him, I’d be smiling at my fans. I keep telling my mom I’m going to build something like that and ride it in all the parades and she says don’t just talk about it, do it. And I tell her I will do it. I just haven’t gotten around to it yet because it’ll be good and I’ll get famous and I haven’t decided whether I want the paparazzi to follow me around all the time like they follow around Prince William.

__________________________

Original image: http://www.public-domain-photos.com/people/stilt-bird-guy-4.htm
Published in: on March 15, 2010 at 4:30 am  Leave a Comment