Ready to move into my castle

Ready to move into my castle

Handwritten page of a diary dated April 10, 2007

in the teacher’s lounge. Yesterday all the discussion was still about Larry Birkhead being named the true biological father of Anna Nicole Smith’s daughter, and someone asked me, single father that I am, whether I think Larry Birkhead can handle the responsibility.

But at that point in the day I had bigger things on my mind since last night was the night for Jessie’s birthday party and I was worrying that mini-golf wasn’t the best plan since the four friends she invited are all so young. Lucky for me, some of the moms came along and we got them through the course all right and everything seemed normal until the last hole. Jessie saw that castle and she was transfixed. She walked toward it like she had seen the promised land. I had to pick her up and set her on top of the concrete wall so her friends could hit the balls through. Jessie never once took her eyes off that castle. She didn’t even want to go to the picnic table area to eat birthday cake, but she calmed down because she found a spot where she had a view of her castle.

If we’re headed into a princess phase here, I’m in trouble. The best I can do is keep her away from the story of Cinderella. I don’t want her thinking the way to move into a castle is to meet a prince. That’s what Anna Nicole thought, and look how that turned out for her. Good luck Larry Birkhead. I think you and I have big jobs ahead of us.

__________________________

Original image: http://www.flickr.com/photos/clintus/445376280/
Published in: on March 26, 2010 at 4:30 am  Leave a Comment