Evil mosquito wanted to bore into my flesh

Mosquito biting human skin

Handwritten page of a diary dated May 22, 1992

and when I heard that little whining noise in the air, I knew a mosquito had gotten in the apartment. I hate that sound because I once saw a closeup picture of a mosquito drilling into a human and it gave me the creeps, so bad it made me understand the phrase about when your skin crawls. Thinking about it made me not be able to get to sleep, which turned out not so bad because I got a lot done.

First I watched Bette Midler sing to Johnny Carson to say goodbye to his show. Corny but I surprised myself and almost got a tear in my eye. Then I washed the dishes, and I mean all of them, not like I usually do when I pick out ones I might want tomorrow and just wash those. It looked so good in the kitchen that I also gave the floor a scrubbing.

I tried going back to bed, but I just got comfy and I heard that horrible whining sound again, so I guess the mosquito just waited for me to come back. So I got up again and went to the garage and cleaned out my car, and I’m sorry to say all the crap I had thrown in the back seat was enough to fill a small hefty bag. The car then looked so inviting that I felt like driving so I went to the 7-11 and got some milk so I could eat Rice Krispies in the morning.

The third time I got in bed, I didn’t hear anything, but I couldn’t relax, thinking the mosquito was just waiting to move in. So I took my pillow and grabbed my sleeping bag out of the closet and unrolled it on the bathroom floor. When I closed the bathroom door I FINALLY felt alone for the first time all night and FINALLY had no trouble getting to sleep.

__________________________

Original image: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Aedes_aegypti_biting_human.jpg
Published in: on April 5, 2010 at 4:30 am  Leave a Comment