Just say no to marriage

Bride & groom

Handwritten page of a diary dated June 2, 2008

Today woulda been my 25th wedding anniversary, if I hadn’t gotta divorce 24 years and two months ago.

I shoulda broken up with him when he said all six of his dogs had to live in the house — and three of them had to sleep on our bed.

And I really shoulda broken up with him when he said a diamond ring was a waste of money since he couldn’t find a job he liked, and that our friends and family wouldn’t know any difference if I wore a $7 rhinestone ring.

But seriously, when I walked up the aisle and saw him standing there in a purple shirt with no tie, I shoulda just turned around and walked my $2000 wedding gown right outta that church.

So I raise a toast to my last good 24 years and my big house and my young boyfriend who lives an hour away where he can’t cause me too much trouble.

__________________________

Original image: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:WomanInWeddingDress2.jpg
Published in: on April 6, 2010 at 4:30 am  Leave a Comment