You got a fast car

Handwritten page of a diary dated December 14, 1992

shoulda been ecstatic. I’d been wanting a boyfriend and I got Steven. I’d been wanting to go to California and I was there. I was walking on a beach at night in December and not even wearing a coat!

But there was a bonfire and there were guys there with their guitars singing ‘You got a fast car, is it fast enough so we can fly away’ and after all that time waiting to get a boyfriend and then finally having a pretty good one, still there was nothing I wanted to do more than ditch him for a while and go sit by that fire. I wish I coulda told Steven that I’d meet him back at the motel later. I wanted to talk small talk with strangers, even for an hour or two.

I wonder if other people feel like this sometimes.
__________________________

Original image: http://www.public-domain-image.com/people/slides/people-on-beach.html
Published in: on April 16, 2010 at 4:30 am  Leave a Comment