Sleeping rooster

Sleeping rooster

Handwritten page of a diary dated September 8, 2002

well don’t ask me why she was dressed like a rooster. The first time I walked by her and looked inside the mask I thought she was just resting her eyes. But then I went by a few more times because she was standing on the path to the bathroom and each time she had her eyes closed.

I was kind of starting to get worried about her because if she was asleep she could fall over and poke herself with her own beak. I didn’t know what to do. First I thought I might find a way to look casual while I stood close enough that if she started to tip, I could break her fall, but she had pretty good posture, and I didn’t know which way she’d fall.

I stayed about half an hour and then everyone was leaving and I didn’t want to leave her there alone. So finally I woke her up. We talked a little and I got her phone number. If we start dating and she gets mad at me some day, I’ll tell her that I watched over her for a long time that day when we met, and she’ll think that was sweet and she won’t be mad any more.

__________________________

Original image: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Spiral_Q_Rooster.jpg
Published in: on April 20, 2010 at 4:30 am  Leave a Comment