The pool was miniscule

Handwritten page of a diary dated August 25, 1973

My mom is always bragging that they had a pool in their yard when she was growing up but then I finally saw a picture of it and it’s about five feet by five feet long. I said, it’s a good thing you had on your swimming cap because you might’ve gotten one drop of water on your hair. She said maybe it wasn’t so big but it was a deep pool and it was refreshing on a hot day.

I forgot all about it till now because today is at least 150 million degrees outside and I’m laying on some boxes in the basement because it’s the only cool place in the entire house and I would pay about 2 trillion dollars to have that little pool in our yard right now. I might go admit it to her, except I’d have to go upstairs

__________________________

Original image: http://www.squareamerica.com/search/?tag=1950s&paged=2
Published in: on May 4, 2010 at 4:30 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thatoneday.wordpress.com/2010/05/04/the-pool-was-miniscule/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

