Keep your sunny side up, up

Handwritten page of a diary dated Jan 30, 1979

Freezing rain is not the best highway condition on a road like this where you might plunge yourself into the sea with one wrong move — but I was in for a long drive and I was determined to stop pouting, especially since there wasn’t anyone there to console me anyway. So I made the longest list ever of the positive side:

  1. I don’t have cancer.
  2. Anwar Sadat and Menachem Begin signed a peace agreement so there will probably be peace in the Middle East.
  3. Valerie is more than 200 miles away from me now.
  4. I have a tall mug of hot chocolate in the cup holder.
  5. I don’t have to start work for another two weeks.
  6. I didn’t marry Lawrence.
  7. There’s a radio station up here that doesn’t just play the same stupid disco songs over and over. And when they played The Cars, they didn’t play ‘My Best Friend’s Girl But She Used To Be Mine’ They played ‘Moving in Stereo’! So good.
  8. I wasn’t in Jonestown drinking Kool-Aid.
  9. That fortune teller guy at the party told me I’d find true love before the end of the century and that still leaves me plenty of time.

__________________________

Original image: http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/bKqvKkY2f8YYhVO01JTVew
Published in: on June 2, 2010 at 4:30 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thatoneday.wordpress.com/2010/06/02/keep-your-sunny-side-up-up/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

