I wouldn’t make my worst enemy carry that lunch pail

Handwritten page of a diary dated September 8, 1971

because it’s the stupidest lunch pail in this stupid stupid world and I cannot believe she expects me to take it to school. I  am 10 years old. Not 2. And this is the 1970s NOT the stupid 1940s.

Grandpa brought it up from the cellar, where it looks like it was stored in his bomb shelter a few years after he carried it around in the dust bowl while he walked to school with his friend Tom Joad from the Grapes of Wrath, ha ha ha.

If I have to live with my old old grandparents and I carry a stupid lunch pail with a bus on it they could at least bother to spring the dough for a PARTRIDGE FAMILY bus lunch pail.

__________________________

Original image: http://www.flickr.com/photos/fortinbras/1857360629/
Published in: on June 16, 2010 at 4:30 am  Leave a Comment