Grandma in a fast car

1934 Singer

Handwritten page of a diary dated April 8, 1970

is a sweet girl but she gets bored too easily. I’m not sure what we’re going to do together for two weeks.

Today she was already pacing around the house, and I asked if she wanted to play gin rummy. She agreed, but then during the game she came right out and declared that I’ve had a really dull life.

Well, as John Wayne would say, “them’s fightin’ words.” I had to get my scrapbook out of the cedar chest. I wanted to show her the photograph of me and Theodore in his two-seater. She was a mite flabbergasted. She wanted to know if I still had that helmet so she could wear it to a party and she wanted to know if I had goggles like he was wearing. She liked my suede coat but she thought it would be better if it had long fringe hanging from it. I asked her if she wanted to look like Davy Crockett, which to that statement she said: yes I do.

Her favorite part was that I had a boyfriend with long hair and a beard, way back in the 1930s. I just let her think she was right, even though the truth is that Theodore’s hair was short and what she was seeing was just a cloth that hung down from the back of his helmet.

__________________________

Original image: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Singer_1,5-Litre_Le_Mans_2-Seater_Sports_1934.jpg
Published in: on July 1, 2010 at 4:30 am  Leave a Comment