Hamburger sunny side up

Handwritten page of a diary dated September 24, 1983

so I say Grandpa you can’t have this hamburger every day and he says but it’s your specialty and there aren’t any restaurants that make it that way and I say well I’m glad you like it but it’s not healthy and he says why not it’s just a hamburger not a cheeseburger and I say but hamburger has fat and so does the bacon and he says but avocados are a vegetable and I say no I think they’re a fruit and he says if it’s a fruit it should be sweet and I say lemons aren’t sweet and he says if I make it he’ll add ketchup this time to get a vegetable in there and I say ketchup is full of sugar and he says the public schools consider ketchup a vegetable and I say the public schools give chocolate milk to the kids now and have a pop machine in the hall and he says well eggs are healthy and I say not when they’re fried in butter and he says the bun is good for you and I say white flour sits in your stomach for four days before it digests and he says I bought you a bike when your parents wouldn’t buy you one so I made him the hamburger.

__________________________

Original image: http://www.flickr.com/photos/dlifson/3501190451/
Published in: on August 4, 2010 at 4:30 am  Comments (2)