Mermaids are real

Handwritten page of a diary dated October 9, 2008

never believe anything I say. I said I thought mermaids could exist and then I found this photo of a mermaid corpse, so maybe they’ll listen more when I say something.

I still can’t exactly explain how a human respiratory system could breathe underwater all the time. I ordered a book called “How to Breathe Underwater” but it turned out to be a collection of short stories. So I gave it to my aunt for her birthday.

I looked on the internet and found a page that says “what is the human world record for holding their breath underwater the longest?” and someone answered “1 year” so maybe that was written by someone who knows a new breathing secret that could explain it. A hippo can hold his breath for a long time and so can David Blaine.

This is my new favorite song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nZLhUik0tSU

__________________________

Original image: http://www.flickr.com/photos/topgold/2394806951/
Published in: on September 21, 2010 at 4:30 am  Comments (55)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thatoneday.wordpress.com/2010/09/21/mermaids-are-real/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

55 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I happened to run across one of those mermaid corpses while jogging a secluded Lake Michigan beach a couple of years ago. It was up north and near Ba Lar Nie Point, which is between the small communities of Itelalii Village and Bowsheet Cove.

  2. is mermaid real,is it true,

    • My stories are just pieces of fiction, but the truth is that no one really knows for sure if mermaids are real.

    • I KNOW THAT IS NOT A GOOD MERMAID THAT IS A EVIL THING THAT PRIED ON THE BEAUTIFUL MERMAIDS IT WAS KILLED BY THEM AND TAKEN TO THE LAND TO ROT THERE. WHAT IT TAKES FROM THE BEAUTIFUL MERMAIDS ARE THEIR BEAUTY AND THEIR LIFE TO LIVE FOR THOUSANDS OF YEARS MAKING THEM TURN INTO WHAT IS CALLED A MOMMY THIS IS HOW THAT CREATURE CAN LIVE TAKING THEIR LIFE FOES

  3. I watch a show one day when i was doing my homework and they said mermaids were real.

    • H2o?

  4. In the world is really have mermaid?

    • not everyone speaks Yoda.

  5. It’s not possible..the record of under water breathing is 5 min. & few sec..so i don’t think it is posible…i just saw d image which show a dead mermaid..i don’t know that they were exist or not..bt i reads obout mermaid in books..

    • No , there is a guy in Honduras that can hold it up to 7 minutes that people will jump to water to make sure he is ok
      He said that he grow up in a farm and he has to move cows across the river every winter so over the years he tried fishing underwater and that is how everybody learn of his gift

  6. i think it’s not real,, someone maybe put his/her mermaid statue there to make sensation

  7. i think mermaid is real they can breath because they come frome water

  8. i’m really searching of them’.but i have got one clue, that mermaids can be real because in ”THE LITTLE MERMAID” movie it was told that mermaids were living in the middle of atlantic ocean.dear friends,i’m thinking of taking a ship and sailing away to the place.if i couldn’t it’s ur chance.we all are people who made a plane,a whole room made of metal to go more than 300 m above the ground.it is also people like us not artificial robots.i dont have much.i’m small but………….i’m sharp SAHELI USHEEJA

  9. i think mermaids are real because like it must be a fact from long go or something

  10. hmmn, well there is another photo if you look up mermaids on google of a mermaid that looks sorta like this…
    i dont know what to think… there is a very convincing video on youtube and my south african mate spoke about dead mermaids washing up on the shores of africa.

  11. they should do an otopsie on this corspe, you know to figure how mermaids breath underwater.

    • they probably have gills like fish, they just rotted off after the death.

      • They did that, and showed it on animal planet.
        Enlarged spleens.

  12. Please tell me how to beacome a real mermaid

  13. Oh my god, its so truth, you Americans are retarded…..

    Europe

    • Really?! You are going to call US AMERICANS retarded?? And who are you exactly? I would love to know. Isn’t Europeans “civilized” people? So I’m guessing that you there, Europe, have actually seen one for yourself in person….and then done an otpsi on it YOURSELF. For someone to speak out and call ALL americans retarded over people purly discussing if mermaids are real or not, would make you simply MORONIC. You need to be back handed.

      • dude. you’re argueing with a complete stranger over the internet. you are acting like a moron by doing so. <3

        • HE’S NOT ARGUING WITH YOU. HE;S JUST BASICALLY SAYING THE COMMENT ASSUMES YOU ARE IGNORANT. AND THAT IGNORANT COMMENT JUST MADE YOU AS RETARDED AS YOU SO CALLED THE “AMERICANS”..

      • Its true though, Americans are retarded. I’m one, I see them all the time,truly stupid human Beings. I love mermaids, but she simply meant if you ask how to become a mermaid, your retarded. “) cuz you can’t become a mermaid.

        • Before you start insulting others intelligence, please be sure to check that your grammar & spelling is 100% correct. When you spell words incorrectly while calling others “retarded” doesn’t really make you look any brighter than them. (This is to ALL the people arguing on this post.)

          • By the way, ‘autopsy’ the correct spelling.

            • *is

              • RACIST
                I don’t care if it’s real or not I’m just looking

            • Haha thank you, I was wondering when someone was going to correct that -__-

  14. it ca be real becoz there was a dead mermaids found on the beach side but one off them was still breathing and when the medic came she was dead at that moment and it was reported on the news and her pics were on the news channels but i dont have those pics to prove but i had seen it and the place was karachi (PAKISTAN)…

  15. I also believe that mermaids are 100% real. I mean whos to know WHAT IS at the bottom of the ocean. Just because no one has ever seen them, doesnt mean that it doesnt exist. There are new species of plants, animals, fish, and insects discovered everyday. Maybe one day people will discover a real life mermaid. However I believe that mermaids will not be as……beautiful as fairytales make them out to be. I believe they will look a lot like the picture above.

  16. I think they are real. But so rare that its hard to believe. With out the ability, creativity and the smarts we have now, back then i don’t know where we would have got the idea from… and everything, every thought comes from something.

    Maybe its unnatural, but it doesn’t mean its impossible.

  17. sculpture made by artist Juan Cabana…

  18. i tottaly believe in mermaids,but i havent ever seen one in person.I also aggree with the third comment above me,mermaids are tottaly what fairy tales say they are.

  19. oops,i meant to say that fairy tales say that mermaids arent what they say they really r

  20. I want to be a mermaid but can’t even open my eyes underwater!!!!
    My dream is that when I die and go to heaven I will be able to be a mermaid with angel wings, be able to make my art I don’t have time to make in this life and that I can river dance and do pointe ballet I so love!!!!!!
    I believe in mermaids, unicorns, dragons
    They have been in stories, tales, fables, poems through the ages, Unicornas are mentioned in the Bible!
    We must open up and believe beyond our meager human minds

  21. Mermaids are not real! That corpse was from a movie and the owner of several FAKE corpses decided to prank people and try and freak them out! I know because I saw the show on TV. That doesn’t mean they don’t exist. Anythings possible! I just remember that certain pic from the TV show!

  22. I Know Mermaids Are Real Because When I Was Swimming In Lake Michigan When I Was Little I Saw A Mermaid She Took Me To Her Under Water World And She Gave Me A Necklace To Become A Merman. I Live In Michigan

  23. I Now A Spell Here’s Mine I Made It My Self, spell Mermaids & Mermen Of The Sea I Would Like A Tail (Color) (And A Power Of) Human When Dry Mermaid/Merman When Wet Give Me Your Powers To Me (It Should Work By Midnight)

  24. Stupid americans

  25. I
    don’t if it true and i don’t wanna believe so people can do any thing with a picture and besides that thing look so fake this is crap ……….

  26. found a skeleton at marinabeach, chennai ,india , was kept for further studies

  27. Actually these are art sculptures Look Them Up on The internet

  28. lol

  29. Magic Sea I Would Like A Color Tail And Be Human On Dr And Have The Power Of Heating Water.Freezing And Controlling Water.. So mote It Be

  30. i think they’re real because i my self saw a creature like the mermaid when we drove in the sea far from islands and there are no other people aside from us.

    • are u serious or being sarcastic?

  31. i guess if your on this site you have an interest in mermaids

  32. I have a bit of a story,iam from trinidad and tobago,i was recently at a beach,and something i cannot explain occurred.I have never been one2 believe in mermaids but then again neither UFOs.Until i saw their craft on numerous occasions.The beach is pretty secluded and according2 my dad who is there often he had never seen the ocean so rough,and the waves constantly crisscrossed.I was a little nervous so i went closer2 shore,i heard a voice call my name,i ignored it but it happened again but louder!it freaked me out.The voice was a sing songish woman’s voice.so i chalked it up2 i was losing it, i looked all over2 see where it came from but nothing.About 15mins later something hard and flat hit me square in my back.I was so done with that water.It took me a while2 tell my mum,but i kno she wud believe me.To my shock she looks to tell me that one morning she saw something playing in the water diving in and out the waves.Her best description from the beach house some giant fish looking thing.I dont even know what to think

  33. I can’t even understand what most of you are saying.

  34. I DO BELIEVE IN MERMAIDS,,, THEY REALLY EXIST

  35. There were two documentaries about mermaids. One called ‘Mermaids, The Evidence.’ Very convincing

  36. I think mermaids may exist because everyone comes into this world from water and no one knows everything thats in the ocean why couldnt a mermaid be possible?


Leave a Reply

