Woo-hoo

Handwritten page of a diary dated February 22, 1986

and I told her she shouldn’t walk around all day saying “woo-hoo” as if she invented it or something. She said she DID invent that phrase! But I told her “Jennifer, people have been saying that for a long time” and she said “I doubt that.”

I told her I thought I saw it on an album cover once and she said again how very much she doubted it. But really, I went through every one of my mom’s old albums. Then I went through every one of Uncle Ken’s albums, which took about an entire afternoon. Then came the WOO-HOO jackpot at Aunt Karen’s house in her record collection.

Today in school Mrs. Kass in the office let me Xerox Aunt Karen’s album cover since I told her it was for a school project — which it kind of was for a school project because when I got up in homeroom during the “sharing” part, I passed these out so everyone would know the history of WOO-HOO.

Now everyone is calling Jennifer Rock-a-Teen, and she has vowed that I will be very very sorry I did this.

__________________________

Original image: http://www.flickr.com/photos/pagedooley/3867518050/in/photostream/
Published in: on October 14, 2010 at 8:40 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thatoneday.wordpress.com/2010/10/14/woo-hoo/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I invented the phrase, hoo-woo. Any arguments about that?


Leave a Reply

