I’d let my slip show

Handwritten page of a diary dated September 28, 1982

watered her plants and brought her mail to the nursing home all summer while she recovered from a broken leg. I didn’t expect to be paid which is really ok since she used to do favors for us back when Mom was sick and I was a baby.

But today she told me to find my gift in a black box in an upstairs closet. It’s an old-fashioned slip that looks brand new. I can’t think where I’d ever wear this since I wear jeans all the time and no one would ever wear this kind of thing except under an old-fashioned dress of which Mrs. Anderlock has plenty in that closet because her husband used to take her out for dinner all the time before he died.

The slip fits me though and I look good in it so I’ll keep it in the box just in case someone brings back the fashion of wearing slips — maybe even under a jacket so it would show, ha ha ha. But really, it wouldn’t bother me a bit. I’m tired of the eighties so far with everyone wearing preppy boat shoes and pink leg warmers and teased up hair with their ears showing and

__________________________ 

Original image: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Slip02.jpg

Published in: on October 18, 2010 at 2:07 pm  Comments (2)