Mermaid Brand Oysters

Handwritten page of a diary dated April 14, 1964

I always liked mermaids, but now I saw a sign for oysters called Mermaid oysters, and the mermaid on the sign is the most beautiful one I’ve ever seen. I love her so much that I want to learn to like oysters even though they are the slimiest food in the world.

I went to the library and I learned that ancient Romans loved oysters and sent their slaves to England to collect oysters to bring back for them. I learned that oysters have colorless blood. And I learned that when some little outside object gets trapped inside an oyster, it produces some calcium and protein to coat the object and over time, it becomes a pearl. I have a genuine pearl on a locket and now I look at it in a whole new way.

I hope when I’m an adult, I will look like that mermaid on the sign. Even if it means I will have to grow a tail, I wouldn’t mind. I really wouldn’t.

__________________________

Original image: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?VISuperSize&item=110602257777

Published in: on November 4, 2010 at 1:10 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thatoneday.wordpress.com/2010/11/04/mermaid-brand-oysters/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

