‘Me and My Arrow’

Handwritten page of a diary dated May 28, 1990

he sure didn’t get his love for the Beatles from the genes of my sister, who only ever liked John Denver, not John Lennon.

He listened to all the Beatles 45s again, and then he found this record by Harry Nilsson, and I said Harry Nilsson was a friend of John Lennon, so then he had to listen to Me and My Arrow five times in a row, and I got tired of hearing it so I said there’s a whole album that tells a story and I have it somewhere, so we find the album and we listen to the story, which I’d mostly forgotten, of Oblio and his dog Arrow who have a lot of trouble because they don’t have points on their heads like everyone else.

When Ginny comes to pick him up he tells her “Mom, I’m going to have to send you to the pointless forest to learn a lesson that it’s ok to have a round head.”

And she looks at me like she always does, like I must’ve put LSD in his Kool Aid.

__________________________

Original image: http://www.flickr.com/photos/12836528@N00/2782751473
Published in: on December 10, 2010 at 1:30 pm  Comments (2)