These are the people in your neighborhood

Handwritten page of a diary dated March 31, 1966

gave me this old-fashioned birthday card and said  “this is four neighborhood friends like us” so I read the poem about sharing and I thanked them, but I thought these girls aren’t anything like us.

Then later I gave that picture a closer look and I started seeing what’s really going on there.

Let’s say you start from the left and name them A  B  C  and  D.

A is telling B that she’s underdressed for the occasion and she’s going to make them all look bad. B is saying, I asked for comfortable clothes, but they gave me shoes are about 10 sizes too small for a person of my size and you should just be happy I’m wearing lace because believe me, when I grow up I will never ever wear anything with lace on it.

D is thinking any time I get something good I have to share it with my annoying sister C. C is asking D a hundred questions as usual and D is trying to close her eyes and pretend she’s in a peaceful quiet alternate universe where she doesn’t have any brothers or sisters.

So yeah, this picture is more like us than I originally thought.

__________________________

Original image: http://www.flickr.com/photos/chicks57/4025776101/sizes/m/in/photostream/
Published in: on January 16, 2011 at 5:49 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thatoneday.wordpress.com/2011/01/16/these-are-the-people-in-your-neighborhood/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think that they are all asking each other how in the world they are expected to stand on a tilted table.

  2. If these people are in MY neighborhood, I’m moving…..


Leave a Reply

