‘Smokey Bear’

Handwritten page of a diary dated June 21, 1983

she told me she found some of my old books in the attic and she put my favorite one on the kitchen table. I went in to check it out and I did kind of remember it. But frankly I’m not sure it’s such a great message. Should little kids with no parents around be talking to a guy with just jeans on and no shirt? OK no I know he’s not a guy but talking to a bear seems like just as bad doesn’t it? Either way there’s an axe within his reach and I’ve heard some terrifying axe murder stories at camp (and not very many of them have a happy ending). And believe you me, the story of Lizzie Borden is no picnic and that one is true true and more true. And it  happened here in Massachusetts. It happened so long ago that even Grandma hadn’t been born yet but the reason I know it is true because I read about it in a book at the library.

Grandpa has a giant axe in his garage.

__________________________

Original image: http://www.etsy.com/listing/59097172/vintage-a-little-golden-booksmokey-bear

Published in: on March 18, 2011 at 4:28 pm  Comments (1)