‘Let me be by myself in the evening breeze …’

Handwritten page of a diary dated August 12, 1983

asked them to show me around the cabin thinking I’d see the bedroom and she said there’s really only this one room. So I’m thinking, great, two nights, me and this married couple and there’s no escape? She did say it wouldn’t cool off much at night, so if I got hot sleeping on the old couch, there’s a bed “out back” and I thought — whew, if they need some privacy I’ll just go out to the porch or the tent or whatever it is.

Turns out it’s not only just a bed out in the open, it’s not even much of a bed, which I found out the hard way at 3 a.m. when the sound of the squeaky springs on their rollaway bed woke me up. Gathered up my sleeping bag as quietly as I could and tiptoed out the backdoor.

Actually it was pretty nice out there under the stars. Little breeze made a swish noise with the leaves. Except for the mosquito bite on my eyelid, it wasn’t bad. If I can find some mosquito net to twist around my head, I might be out there again tonight.

__________________________

Original image: http://www.flickr.com/photos/splatt/2398429496/

Published in: on April 1, 2011 at 10:13 am  Comments (1)