‘In Heaven There is No Beer’

Handwritten page of a diary dated June 2, 1979

then she admitted that I’d be the youngest guy there. But she hadn’t gone anywhere since grandpa died, and she didn’t want to go alone. A big dilemma if you ask me. Plus when I said yes I didn’t even know the band would have an ACCORDION player. It was practically like the polka shows you see on TV on Sunday afternoons.

For a while I was just sitting at a table with her but then some guy (younger than her!) came over and asked her to dance.

I got bored. Started wandering around seeing if I could spot some lady with white hair who might like the thrill of dancing with me, ha ha ha. Then I found one who looked like Aunty Em from the Wizard of Oz. But she said no thank you son. Son?

Then the band played this song called In Heaven There is No Beer That’s Why We Drink it Here. It wasn’t the worst song I ever heard and it made me think dancing would really beat walking around. So I asked another old lady but this one had brown hair and she said SURE. Ended up having some laughs. I hope the Aunty Em lady saw us and realized she made a big fat mistake by turning me down.

__________________________

Original image: http://www.public-domain-photos.com/people/band-2-4.htm

Published in: on April 13, 2011 at 1:08 pm  Comments (1)