Nurse’s office

Handwritten page of a diary dated October 24, 1963

always wondered this, but now I can say for sure that it is really really strange to hear your own name called out on the little speaker. Of course I knew I hadn’t done anything wrong to see the principal for, so it did cross my mind that Mom had been in a grisly car accident or something. But no. It was only my sister who needed to be taken home because she had a “belly ache” and they couldn’t reach Mom so they called me in.
I must admit it was fun to take a few hours off school and of course I did milk this thing for all it was worth. One of the things was, at bedtime I said I wasn’t sure I’d be able to sleep due to thinking about how after all the hours and hours of dullness I sat through at this school maybe this woulda been the one afternoon when I was finally about ready to learn something really important that mighta changed my whole life. So she let me stay up late and watch Johnny Carson.

__________________________

Original image:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/42742849@N00/2390653444/
Published in: on May 11, 2011 at 10:22 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thatoneday.wordpress.com/2011/05/11/nurses-office/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I grew up a pediatrician son… Tummy ache, sore throat, headache…. Never mattered… I went to school anyways…”drink some flat warm 7-up… You’ll be fine,just fine”


Leave a Reply

