Ivy League harmonica

Handwritten page of a diary dated July 19, 1995

asked me what I want to do for a living and I said — play the harmonica. Duh.

She said that’s a nice hobby, but really, you’ll be leaving for college soon and you need to start thinking about what will actually land you an income.

I said Big Mama Thornton didn’t think about what she wanted to do for a living. She just had the blues deep down in her soul. Like me.

She said Big Mama Thornton didn’t get the chance to go to Brown University like you do.

I don’t get why she doesn’t think I could have the blues just because my family can afford to send me to a really good school. The blues isn’t about money.

And besides, she was the one who gave me the harmonica when I was barely old enough to walk. I can’t help it if I got really really good at it.

__________________________

Original image:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/kelly1878/2131925334/in/photostream/
Published in: on May 13, 2011 at 10:06 am  Comments (3)