in the afternoon with Cecilia, up in my bed room

Handwritten page of a diary dated June 21, 1970

laying on the carpet. I’m sorry, I like to be mellow sometimes (I have Dylan albums) but come on. It was a party and we hadn’t all seen each other for a year.

So I was looking through Binzie’s record collection to find something to dance to. It was all Joni Mitchell and Judy Collins and James Taylor. I almost flipped by the “Bridge Over Troubled Waters” album, but then I remembered — Cecilia, you’re breaking my heart. You’re shaking my confidence daily.

I put that tune on the turntable and blasted the speakers and they all kind of came out of it. Pretty soon we were marching around the room, singing and I said, Hey man we could make more noise in the dining room with no carpet. So Foo and those guys moved the big table and the chairs out to the garage.

“Jubilation she loves me again I fall on thee floor and I’m laughing.”

I bet we played that song over and over at least 10 times before the old guy from next door came over and …

__________________________

Original image:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/sierraromeo/2441177209/in/set-72157604744240241/
Published in: on June 6, 2011 at 10:32 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thatoneday.wordpress.com/2011/06/06/in-the-afternoon-with-cecilia-up-in-my-bed-room/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. …before the old guy from next door came over and… practically forced us to play some Ferlin Husky, Mickey Gilly and Hank Williams tunes (if that’s what you want to call them — I call them “borrrrring!”).


Leave a Reply

