Neil Young vs. Captain and Tennille

Handwritten page of a diary dated October 1, 1975

your birthday isn’t for another month, so you’ll have plenty of time to practice pretending you like it” and I said “They don’t make enough ‘pretend juice’ in this world for me to drink so I could pretend I like a sweater she made from instructions she got out of a magazine 10 years ago” and she said “Well she hasn’t started making it yet. Do you want me to suggest some colors? Maybe the colors are a little too … sixties. Maybe it could be red white and blue for the upcoming bicentennial” and naturally I was dumfounded. Brett walked in and I said “Brett help me. Mom wants to know if I want this sweater made in red white and blue” but all he said was “Is that the girl from Captain and Tennille?” And then Mom said “Oh I love that album Brett. Will you play it on our downstairs hi-fi, so I can hear it again?”
To counteract the effects of their dopey sock hop in the living room, I had to go to the garage and listen to side two of Harvest by Neil Young.

__________________________

Original image:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/23097960@N04/3021716052/in/photostream/
Published in: on June 27, 2011 at 6:29 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thatoneday.wordpress.com/2011/06/27/neil-young-vs-captain-and-tennille/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Didn’t Elton wear that on the cover of Caribou? I think they photoshopped Tonis head on Eltons body….unless they are the same person?


Leave a Reply

