A Monkee’s grandma

Handwritten page of a diary dated August 3, 1986

…  was staring at the picture of my grandparents so while trying to be nice, I said, now you should show me a picture of your grandparents sometime. It wasn’t even an hour later, he knocks on my door and holds out this picture of his grandparents.

I was trying to be nice and say it was a great picture, but I was about to laugh my head off because his grandma looks like Mickey Dolenz. YES Mickey Dolenz of the Monkees, yes Mickey Dolenz who sang ‘I’m a Believer’ and I mean I still love Mickey as much as I did when I was a pre-teen super huge fan of his, but he did not age well — I should know because I just saw them last week in Hampton Beach on their reunion tour! That old woman has Mickey’s exact EXACT face the way it is now, but I didn’t bother asking this kid about it because he’s too young to remember the Monkees.

Actually I was so busy staring at his grandma that I almost didn’t notice the kid’s poor grandpa is missing his right hand. I didn’t ask about that either but I’d sure like to know how it happened.

__________________________

Original image:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/37775831@N02/5568763187/in/photostream/
Published in: on July 27, 2011 at 1:33 am  Comments (1)