The mermaid and the starfish

Handwritten page of a diary dated July 25, 1962

…  because Freddy (my nephew Freddy, not my ex-boyfriend Freddy) (of course) said I could read the essay he wrote.

I unzipped his 3-ring binder and a page from a magazine fell out. Now either he is shopping for a new bathing suit, or he is feeling lustful about a scantily dressed mermaid. I didn’t want to embarrass him, but … well, I did think it was funny, so I asked him about it. He hemmed and hawed and finally said “Oh, we’re studying mermaids in … um … Biology class … no … I mean Art class.”

So I told him I wanted some drawings or paintings for my refrigerator. Now he’ll feel obligated to do it. Tee hee.

__________________________

Original image:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/37775831@N02/3650863808/
Published in: on August 20, 2011 at 5:59 pm  Comments (2)