Mom’s evil eye

Handwritten page of a diary dated December 2, 1999

called Grandma and asked her if I could live there. She said Hell no you can’t live here, and she asked me if I was off my nut. I said Come on Grandma. She said I could spend the weekend. Then she said “Final answer” because she loves that new show “Who wants to be a Millionaire” with Regis.

When I got there, she sat me down and put her arm around me and said Tell Grandma. I said I am so tired of that look Mom gives me, like she always thinks I’ve done something wrong. And Grandma said Your mom was born with that look. I said No, babies are not judgmental. She laughed, and then said Wait wait wait, and she ran to get a baby picture of my mom.

And Grandma was right! Mom really did look like a baby who would let you know if you got on her nerves. Grandma said she thinks we can blame Johnny’s Seafood Palace because when she was pregnant with Mom she ate the seafood combination platter there and got food poisoning. I said Yeah that could explain a lot. And we both nodded to each other.

__________________________

Original image:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/24498687@N03/2545185530/in/photostream/
Published in: on November 20, 2011 at 11:35 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thatoneday.wordpress.com/2011/11/20/moms-evil-eye-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I can’t see it of course, but I can feel the “evil eye” that I receive every time that I mention the word SPAM online or in an email from a particular person. I know it’s not my imagination because I experienced the phenomenon up close and in person one time during the Tulip Time Festival when I wore my prized SPAM t-shirt out in public. The look that I received from my friend on that occasion has scarred me for life.

    It probably wasn’t Johnny’s Seafood Palace that was the cause of this mom’s evil eye, but was likely to be the result of her phobia to SPAM. Like mother, like daughter.

    • I bet you mean SPAM the canned “meat,” which is even nastier than Spam the junk mail you get in your email box. If so, then I think your friend is justified.


Leave a Reply

