Just french fries for me

Handwritten page of a diary dated April 20, 1988

trip has been good. Well mostly. Sometimes we’re “TREATED” to a dinner in some little town along the way and I worry about what we’ll be forced to eat. European people eat some stuff I wouldn’t even serve to my worst enemy back in our neighborhood. And believe me he deserves it.

My eyes first saw the french fries and I was relieved, because at least I know what those are and no one can ruin french fries too much. But then they bring out this platter and my stomach starts to churn.

This is the whispering conversation I had with my mother:

“What are those things?”
“There are lemons on the plate so it’s probably just some kind of seafood.”
“Are you sure because they look like some kind of dead things Buster dug up from our yard and dragged onto the back porch.”
“If it’s bad just take a few bites. It won’t kill you.”
“Are you sure? Because it would cost you a lot to ship my dead body back to Illinois.”

I mean I understand being nice but my mom believes in taking it too far. When I grow up I plan to find a nice way to weasel out of taking ANY bites of things that look like that. Maybe I’ll say “Oh I forgot to tell you I’m a vegetarian. I’ll just fill up on french fries and salad and bread.”

__________________________

Original image:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/cathepsut/3300661015/in/photostream/
Published in: on December 11, 2011 at 5:17 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thatoneday.wordpress.com/2011/12/11/just-french-fries-for-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great story! Now… wth are those? O_o

  2. Wait… breaded boomerang barracuda?

  3. Fried carp from a region near the French/German border. But now that you know what they are, would you try one? (I’d rather not)


Leave a Reply

