Polka dot boxers

Handwritten page of a diary dated August 4, 1961

said “who knew the picture would end up in the local newspaper?”

Good gracious, I feel terrible. We all been swimming all morning. Then we heard a rumor that a photographer was driving around the campground so I rushed around trying to get Larry and the kids to put on whatever clothes I could quickly get my hands on. I threw Larry a T-shirt and some shoes and socks and got the kids dressed as best I could. They were hungry and fussy though, so I was just getting them a little snack and a bottle of Coca Cola before I ran in to put some clothes on myself. That’s when the photographer drove by.

Now Larry is mad at me. He said “it would’ve looked more natural if I’d been wearing just my swimming trunks. Now it looks like I was walking around in my boxer shorts.” I said, “hey Bub, I’m wearing my bathing suit too you know” and he said “But you look good, like you’re ready to go swimming. In fact, I look a pervert wandering around without my dungarees to different camps and just staring from afar at pretty young mothers in their revealing swimming suits.”

__________________________

Original image:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/foresthistory/3662146597/in/photostream/
Published in: on January 18, 2012 at 12:42 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thatoneday.wordpress.com/2012/01/18/polka-dot-boxers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Am I seeing things or is Larry wearing work boots with those polka dot boxers?

    • You should see what he’s hiding under the mattress in that pop up camper……

  2. I woulda thought a moonpie and an rc cola, not a CocaCola and a snack… I mean just look at those shoes!


Leave a Reply

