‘I want to paint it black’

Handwritten page of a diary dated June 15, 1966

… said I could use the big hi fi in the living room, but I’ve listened to my new 45 so many times I know all the words now.

“I see a red door and I want it painted black.”

I told mom if anyone called me she should give them the phone number over here — but if Grandma keeps talking all day and all night then I’m not going to get the call I’ve been waiting for the most, am I?

“I could not foresee this thing happening to you.”

I saw Mick Jagger’s picture in a magazine once. He really does look like he’s thinking impure thoughts, like I’ve been warned about getting from rock and roll music. But sometimes I listen to the Mamas and the Papas and John Phillips looks like he is living a pretty clean life.

Oh I just looked over and noticed Grandma’s back door is red, and I really do want to paint it black. Maybe rock and roll music does influence teenagers.

__________________________

Original image:
http://www.seemsartless.com/photos/full/red-door-white-chair.jpg
Published in: on February 6, 2012 at 2:29 pm  Leave a Comment