Chicken pot pie

Handwritten page of a diary dated April 5, 1965

that’s the reason I like the Andy Griffith Show so much. Oapie is in the same kind of boat I am with only a father and an old gramma type lady raising me. Actually unlike Sheriff Taylor my dad seems like he wants to get married. BUT he has a problem and he said maybe I was getting about old enough that he could discuss it with me.

He said OK now let’s take this for example, think of the chicken pot pie Shirley made us for dinner tonight. And I did think of it because it tasted very good and also she rolled out thin layers and made it look almost like roses around the circle. Then he said ok, now think of what kind of pot pie we would have if we went over for dinner to Kathy’s house? (behind his back I call Kathy’s house Dullsville) And right away I said Swanson because that’s all she ever makes is their frozen dinners, and that’s about worse than lunch at school.

I always wondered why he didn’t just pick Kathy because she’s much more beauteous, but it’s true that Shirley is a better cook. And now that I think of it, Shirley’s a lot more fun too, and she knows a lot about a lot of things.

I now wish he hadn’t asked for my advice because it’s all too hard for my brain to figure out.

__________________________

Original image:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/nateandmiranda/2405344319/in/photostream/
Published in: on February 14, 2012 at 12:45 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thatoneday.wordpress.com/2012/02/14/chicken-pot-pie/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

