Slept like a baby in the Airstream

Handwritten page of a diary dated June 19, 1964

having a world of trouble sleeping again. Makes me look back on my night in Duane’s Airstream trailer coupla weeks ago. Now THAT dear diary was the only good night of sleep I’ve managed to get in the last ten or so years.

I think when Duane offered me the chance to camp out in it, he thought maybe he was about to be getting lucky inside there with me, but he shoulda known me better than that by now. Yes I always liked his truck and yes I like his new trailer no doubt. But you think that means I’m going to marry him? No it does not. And did I make him sleep in the front seat of his truck that night? Yes I assuredly did.

It wasn’t the bed in that trailer that was so comfortable. Heaven knows my own bed here in my place is bigger. And it wasn’t altogether that quiet out there. The campers over behind were playing the radio so long that I heard songs come back up on the rotation and I swear I heard “Dang Me Dang Me ought take a rope and hang me” by Roger Miller at least a coupla three times. But still and all, I felt restful.

What I need is to find a way to get me one of those trailers for myself without marrying Duane and get a little piece of land on the outskirts of town with trees (but no loud-radio-playing country&western-loving neighbors). Then I’ll settle into a world of good sleep.

__________________________

Original image:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/dwstucke/6236694598/in/photostream/
Published in: on March 31, 2012 at 1:52 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thatoneday.wordpress.com/2012/03/31/slept-like-a-baby-in-the-airstream/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. If I had that Silver Bullet, I’d visit every freakin’ KOA from Portland, ME to Portland, OR. Lots of guys named Duane visit KOAs….Lots.. And their wives Brenda… Unless your last name is Allman.. They’re still at KOA but their wives only are named Cher


Leave a Reply

