1950s distracted driving

Handwritten page of a diary dated November 2, 2003

…  practically freaking out because I answered my cell phone while I was driving. I said if you don’t want me to get distracted then why were you calling me?

Grandpa walked in and asked Mom why she was giving me the evil eye. She tells him and then he starts giving me a lecture about driving.

I’m like “so you both concentrated completely on your driving when you were teenagers?” and they nodded. What grandpa didn’t know was that I scanned a picture he once showed me of him driving an old hot rod with some blonde not wearing her seat belt and distracting him and I don’t even think he had his hands on the steering wheel at the time!!!!!

So later they come to the dinner table and there by everyone’s plate is a printout of that picture. Then mom gave the evil eye to her own father!

__________________________

Original image:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/37775831@N02/4969937606/in/photostream/
Published in: on April 27, 2012 at 5:10 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thatoneday.wordpress.com/2012/04/27/1950s-distracted-driving/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey!! That looks like my first car!

  2. Look MA! No hands!!!!


Leave a Reply

