‘Mama if that’s movin’ up then I’m movin’ out’

Handwritten page of a diary dated September 2, 1980

… quite embarrassing how much she loves Billy Joel but the weird thing is she will only listen to that one album. I say Mom. Come on. He has two new albums since then. Try a new one. But she has her mind made up. Only side one of that particular album interests her.

Sometimes this summer it was really quiet and I was in my room reading a book or something and all of a sudden I’d hear it again “Anthony works in a gro-shurry store. Savin’ his pennies for some day …” I mean it. Sometimes I actually wake up in the middle of the night and think Billy Joel is in my room singing “Working too hard can give you a heart attack ack ack ack ack ack.” So actually for once I’m kinda almost glad that school is starting.

Even while she’s taking our picture with our new lunchboxes at 8:15 in the morning the record player is already playing “Don’t go changin to try and please me” and she thinks I’m excited by my new Mork from Ork lunchbox but all I’m really thinking is that at school there won’t be any Billy Joel.

__________________________

Original image:
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Lunchbox_1980.jpg
Published in: on May 21, 2012 at 12:27 am  Leave a Comment