Pretzelogic

pretzelogic

Handwritten page of a diary dated January 5, 1978

…  first time I’ve learned something from a New Year’s Eve party.

I was having a conversation with J.P. (he still can’t believe I never gave in and went to see his new favorite movie GREASE) and I got tired of him yammering about it but luckily we were right by the snack table. I thought wow — pretzels are amazing. I need to buy some pretzels and eat them all the time. And I did. And now it’s what? three days later and I’m already tired of them. So that’s when I deduced that you can feel pretty ho-hum about stuff if you have it all the time. I have the perfect name for this theory because at that party I heard the whole new Steely Dan Album, and my favorite song on it was conveniently called Pretzelogic, a perfect name for my theory about pretzels (and other things in life that you like but you get on a regular basis.) J.P. said he would never feel that way about sex … or movies he likes (he got a new Betamax for Xmas and he said sooner or later Grease will get released on tape and he will watch it every day of his life after that). I’m almost sure his chances of getting that movie on tape are better than the chances of him having sex every day of his life).

__________________________

Original image:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/oskay/768591540
Published in: on March 2, 2013 at 10:55 pm  Leave a Comment