Join the club

2408742508_e2f9266d7a_b

Handwritten page of a diary dated September 15, 2000

… sent home a note to parents that it was time to join clubs for the coming semester. I almost didn’t give it to her because I knew she was going to stick her nose in my decision. And yes she asked me what clubs I was thinking about and I told her Video Gaming.

She said, “How much Duke Nukem can one boy play?”

I said “Duke Nukem is practically an antique.”

She asked if there wasn’t some other club I might actually get something out of, so I said “I don’t know Mom, maybe the Gay-Straight Alliance would give me the chance to talk through some things.”

That didn’t exactly get the reaction I expected so I said “Aren’t you going to ask me if I’m gay?”

She said she wouldn’t mind if I was gay but she knows I’m not and I said how do you know that and she said she didn’t think a gay boy would hang a half-naked picture of Carmen Electra by his bed.

Good point Mom. Good point.

__________________________

Original image:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/raver_mikey/2408742508
Published in: on June 5, 2016 at 6:55 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thatoneday.wordpress.com/2016/06/05/join-the-club/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Where do I send my membership fees to that club?


Leave a Reply

